Home » News » Xbox One Backwards Compatibility Will Be Impacted By Maintenance

Xbox One Backwards Compatibility Will Be Impacted By Maintenance

Xbox One

Microsoft will be conducting maintenance on Xbox Live early tomorrow morning (US time). This maintenance typically only lasts a couple of hours but if you are an international player you will have issues playing Xbox 360 games even ones that are backwards compatible on the Xbox One.

Starting at 1 AM PT / 4 AM ET / 9 AM BST on June 20, Microsoft will perform “scheduled maintenance that will affect Xbox 360 titles and services.” This won’t impact Xbox One games, but any 360 games being played on the system through backwards compatibility may run into issues. Specifically, Microsoft says that “you may be disconnected from Xbox Live one or more times.”

This is certainly not the first time that Microsoft has performed this type of maintenance and while its typically meant to fix fairly minor issues its scheduled to only last for 2 hours ending around 3 AM PT / 6 AM ET / 11 AM BST, barring any unexpected issues.

While expansion of the Xbox 360 catalog has been a bit slow there was some exciting news at E3. Including a confirmation from Microsoft that they are bringing support for original Xbox games including Crimson Skies: High Road to Revenge.

Microsoft also confirmed that Physical Xbox discs will work and that it will even be possible to system link for multiplayer across Xbox, Xbox 360, and Xbox One games. However, at this current time there has been no specific launch date announced for Xbox backwards compatibility.

That being said with much hype built around Microsoft as the clear winners of E3 this year and with Sony disappointingly stating they had no plans to support backwards compatibility all eyes are on Microsoft to bring forth a truly cross platform gaming system with games from all over the ages. We are very excited to see what else Microsoft has to bring to the table while Sony seems to be stuck in an innovative rut.

Written by
Scott Hartley is a web developer, college student, and is our Senior Editor. Scott has worked on several sites including The Daily Exposition, and The Arcade Corner. When Scott is not working on websites or studying for classes he is likely reading about various scientific discoveries and experiments.

Have your say!

1 0

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

Lost Password

Please enter your username or email address. You will receive a link to create a new password via email.